Technology is always a trade off

According to Postman (1998), he mentioned about the “Five things we need to know about the Technology change”. He stated that Technology change is always a trade off. Technology giveth and technology taketh away. This means that for every advantage a new technology offers, there is always a corresponding disadvantage.

I would like share my ideas here.

My examples:

In this 21st century, every one of us live with all types of Digital Resources. Me, myself can’t live without my hand phone. I had to use my phone everyday to “Facebook”, “Whatsapp” with my friends or even read online news.

On the other side, I would really hate to buy newspaper to read news compared with getting instant news using my phone. Yet, I had dropped my phone on floor while I am taking out from my pocket. My phone was crash and had to send my phone to repair for a week. A questions to ask yourself, “Since that different kind of Digital Resources are around us(Ipad/ Iphone), why don’t we just use it by just a click to know all the instant news?”

By the way, I would like to thanks to Crystal and Shireen for sharing one of the example on “Things we need to know on Technology change”.

 

References:

Postman, N. (1998). Five Things We Need to Know About Technological Change. Retrieved August 3, 2013 from http://usqstudydesk.usq.edu.au/m2/mod/resource/view.php?id=131565

One thought on “Technology is always a trade off

  1. Pingback: TECHNOLOGY IS ALWAYS A TRADE-OFF | Yuen's ICT Blog

Leave a Reply

